Veganism is both the practice of abstaining from the use of animal products, particularly in diet, and an associated philosophy that rejects the commodity status of animals. A follower of veganism is known as a vegan.
Distinctions are sometimes made between several categories of veganism. Dietary vegans (or strict vegetarians) refrain from consuming animal products, not only meat but also eggs, dairy products and other animal-derived substances. The term ethical vegan is often applied to those who not only follow a vegan diet but extend the philosophy into other areas of their lives, and oppose the use of animal products for any purpose. Another term is environmental veganism, which refers to the avoidance of animal products on the premise that the harvesting or industrial farming of animals is environmentally damaging and unsustainable.
The term vegan was coined in 1944 by Donald Watson when he co-founded the Vegan Society in England, at first to mean "non-dairy vegetarian" and later "the doctrine that man should live without exploiting animals." Interest in veganism increased in the 2010s; vegan stores opened, and vegan options became available in more supermarkets and restaurants in many countries.
Wine is sometimes finished with animal products. Specifically, finings used to remove organic impurities and improve clarity and flavour include several animal products, including casein, albumen, gelatin and isinglass.
Wineries might use animal-derived products as finings. To remove proteins, yeast, and other organic particles which are in suspension during the making of the wine, a fining agent is added to the top of the vat. As it sinks down, the particles adhere to the agent, and are carried out of suspension. None of the fining agent remains in the finished product sold in the bottle, and not all wines are fined.
This is it. Put the calls on hold ... BETTY'S BOMBASS BURGERS Gourmet burger combinations, from corned beef to mushrooms to pulled pork, plus vegan, vegetarian choices and cheesy tater tots. SWENSON'S DRIVE IN IconicAkron burgers, including the Galley Boy; fries; shakes ... STONE PELICAN ROLLING CAFÉVegan and gluten-free options as well as grass-fed beef burgers, smoked brisket, pork, seafood ... Will make gluten-free, vegan ... ....
Before the Golden Arches and before Akron’s iconic Swensons, there was Bob’s. As in Bob’s Hamburg, the little joint in an out-of-the-way spot on Akron’s EastAvenue, with the plucky slogan ... “We’re the oldest restaurant in Akron ... The 85-cent burgers will be served from a grill set up outside the restaurant, in a working-class area of WestAkron ... AkronCoffee Roasters, Ms ... Crosier St., Akron....